Follow us on Twitter

GCSE Assessment - Year 11

GCSE Guide Image

Students in Year 11 will be examined using the traditional A*-G grade system with the exception of English and Mathematics where the 'new' GCSE grading of 9-1 will apply.

Included here is a link to a 'postcard' from Ofqual which shows the equivalencies between the 'old' and 'new' grades. In particular, note the following:

  • Grade 4 and above = Grade C and above
  • Grade 7-9 = Grade A and above.

Roughly speaking, the top 20% of the students achieving grade 7 or above will be awarded a grade 9.

In Year 11, students are given a target which is intended to be challenging, yet achievable. This target is initially set using prior data but is then adjusted, if necessary, in the light of a pupil's performance. Research suggests that pupil generated targets have the greatest impact on actual outcomes and so we encourage dialogue between teacher and student to monitor and modify targets as time progresses.

The attainment grade reported in this progress check is a professional judgement of the grade your daughter is likely to achieve at GCSE in 2017, based on the work your daughter has completed so far and her work ethic.

Commitment for Learning Criteria can be found on the school website and in your daughter's planner.

You can find out more about the changes to GCSE grades by clicking here to go to our Guide to the New GCSEs.