Follow us on Twitter

GCSE Assessment

GCSE Guide Image

Students in years 10 and 11 will be examined at GCSE using the new 9-1 grade system.

Included here is a link to a 'postcard' from Ofqual which shows the equivalencies between the 'old' and 'new' grades. In particular, note the following:

  • Grade 4 and above = Grade C and above
  • Grade 7-9 = Grade A and above.

Roughly speaking, the top 20% of the students achieving grade 7 or above will be awarded a grade 9.

The attainment grade reported in both progress checks and end of year reports is a professional judgement of what grade your daughter is likely to achieve at GCSE, based on the work your daughter has completed so far and her work ethic. Please note that we are not reporting targets for Year 10 in the Autumn Term progress check as we feel subject teachers require further time to develop a more detailed knowledge of pupils.

Commitment for Learning Criteria can be found on the school website and in your daughter's planner.

You can find out more about the changes to GCSE grades by clicking here to go to our Guide to the New GCSEs.